Public Humanities Awards

Join us at the Old Capitol Museum in Jackson on February 16th for the 2018 Public Humanities Awards, honoring:

Dr. Leslie-Burl McLemore, former board chair, Mississippi Humanities Council – Cora Norman Award

Visit Mississippi, creator of the Bicentennial Grant program – Preserver of Mississippi Culture

Rethink Mississippi, partner in MHC’s Ideas on Tap program – Humanities Partner Award

Galen Mark LaFrancis, independent scholar documenting the experiences of military veterans and the civil rights movement – Humanities Scholar Award

Prison-to-College Pipeline, program offering humanities courses in state prisons– Humanities Educator Award

Twenty-nine recipients of the 2017 Humanities Teacher Awards, which pay tribute to outstanding faculty in traditional humanities fields, will also be honored at the event.

Purchase tickets in the sidebar or by mailing payment to the address below.

The Mississippi Humanities Council presents Humanities Achievement Awards each February, honoring outstanding contributions in the public humanities in our state. The Council began issuing Achievement Awards in 1993 to recognize persons who have supported the Council’s work through public humanities programs across the state. All Mississippians are invited to make nominations for these awards. Nominations are accepted for Humanities Scholar Award, Humanities Partner Award, Humanities Educator Award, and Humanities Award for Preservation of Mississippi Culture. In addition, the Council awards one extraordinary recipient the “Cora Norman Award,” named for the MHC’s founding director, who guided the Council for its first 24 years. The Cora Norman Award honors individuals who have made significant lifetime contributions to the public humanities in Mississippi.

Every fall, the MHC honors a Humanities Teacher of the Year at each of our state’s institutions of higher learning. These winners are then publicly recognized at the February awards event.